Cardio? Weight Training? Both!

you-dont-even-lift_o_942431

I like to remind people, especially the ladies who want to tighten their physiques, that eschewing weights is ignoring a really effective tool in that quest.  Doing lots of cardio without lifting definitely has some health benefits and it’s important for overall fitness but it doesn’t actually sculpt your body.  If you do enough cardio, it makes you look like a smaller version of what you looked like when you started.  Weight training adds the pretty curves and lines that make the critical difference in the overall look of your physique.  Working to be slimmer is a good goal and can be accomplished with a concentration on cardio but lifting to add that beautiful muscle in the right places does wonders for your overall look.

c061107200a3b87cc67d358920cf603e

fitness-motivation-for-womens-2015-5

(photos from Google)

6 responses

  1. After years on countless cardio machines, I only emphasized my pear shape. It wasn’t until I added lifting I noticed changes in my physique. Couldn’t agree more!

    1. The weights really add positive developments in your physique. I never wanted to be skinny, I always wanted to be curvier and fuller but toned. That’s what lifting does best.

      Wishing you great workouts in the days ahead!

  2. People interested in HEALTH combine cardio and resistance training. Each offers a different benefit (as you mention) that the other doesn’t. When people ask, “should I do the elliptical or weight train,” it’s like asking “should I brush my hair or my teeth.” The simple answer to exercise is BOTH in a manner that you’ll do FOREVER!

    1. I’m glad you like it…and that you stopped by to tell me so. I hope you’re having good days. I’m looking forward to visiting with family and friends over the Thanksgiving holiday!

Leave a Reply

