Progress Report (1-30-17)

lynn-january

I’ve been working out on my Total Gym at home during the month of January.  I’ve found ways to make it challenging and it’s been a fun change for me.  The one and only sticking point I have is that I’m not able to do rows effectively with it.  My back is quite strong and I tried to hold a 45lb plate on my lap to make it more challenging when rowing but it’s awkward and I gave up on that idea.  I have other equipment at  home that I use for rows so it’s not stopping me from giving my back good workouts.

I’ve been able to maintain a reasonable amount of muscle.  I’m not very lean at the moment and that shows too.  My lack of striations has everything to do with my diet and it’s easily remedied.  I simply need to tone down my carb intake, increase my cardio a little and I’ll lean out.  At this very moment, I’m happy and will stick to my current program for February.  When March rolls around I’ll make the appropriate changes in my diet and cardio and that will ease me into summer bikini weather in a nice, smooth way.

My Total Gym workouts have been so enjoyable.  They remind me of how much easier it is to get and stay fit when you truly enjoy your workout time!

5320fffa090aa6a4ab64fbdc71a240b0

11 responses

  1. I don’t think people realize what a good workout the Total Gym offers. Have you ever tried modifying the row by inclining the bench and kneeling on the bench. Place BOTH pulleys in one hand and use a rowing motion while balancing yourself as the bench slides up the incline? It will create significantly more resistance on the lats while helping work the core simultaneously.
    Just an idea to kick around.

    1. I haven’t tried that but I definitely will today. Thanks for the tip. I didn’t think of using one arm but that makes sense!

      1. Also remember to do this on your knees; NOT in a sitting position. You will see it requires a little balancing as well. Good luck and let me know if it gives you better resistance.

  2. Glad you’re enjoying your Total Gym. Looking as great as usual!

    1. Thank you so much! I really like the Total Gym. It’s even better than I thought it might be. There are so many different ways to use it. This time my spur-of-the-moment purchase paid off!

    1. Thank you so much! That lovely compliment brightened my day. I hope all is well in your neck of the woods and that your week is going well!

  3. Good work Lynn

    1. Thank you! I’ve really been enjoying the Total Gym. It’s so smooth and easy on the joints. It’s surprising how much you can actually do with it. It’s really fun to use.

  4. Keep on keeping on. You’re an inspiration! 🙂

    1. Thank you so much! Your lovely compliment sure made me smile. Wishing you a wonderful afternoon!

Leave a Reply

