The Secret

img_7587

This meme tells my story.  There are plenty of days I walk into the gym in my street clothes.  Often, I have things on my mind…I’m trying to solve a life riddle, or figure out the answer to a particular problem.  I’m feeling rather subdued, even serious.

BUT

I change into my workout clothes, get my Ipod fired up and hit the weights.  After a few minutes, my internal transformation begins.  You can’t worry or think too deeply when you’re in the middle of a heavy set.  It’s wonderfully liberating and you can actually feel any burdens you’re carrying getting lighter. 

There’s something called a “runner’s high.”  I don’t run but I do get that same feeling when things are clicking in the gym.  It’s exhilarating and freeing.  When it kicks in, I most definitely feel like Wonder Woman…beautifully strong, capable and happy. 

It’s the transformational secret of the gym that all serious lifters come to know and love!

4 responses

    1. Thanks…glad you stopped by!

  1. You are absolutely right, of course. Exercise is good for the body but just as good, if not better, for the mind.

    1. Especially MY mind. Ha, ha….I swear it keeps me happy and on an even keel. I have no idea where my crazy energy would go if I didn’t have a positive way to dissipate it!

Leave a Reply

