A Little Irish Blessing

 

May you have warm words on a cold evening, a full moon on a dark night and a smooth road all the way to your door. (Irish Blessing)

imgres-1

An Irish Blessing…that’s how I think of my sister.  When I was 5, I wanted a sister more than anything in the world.  I’d been begging my mom and dad to bring a baby girl into our lives for years.  That was easier said than done since my parents could not have biological children.  They’d adopted me and we were a happy little family of three but I really wanted to be a family of four.

One day my parents told me the news I’d been waiting to hear for so long.  I was going to have a sibling!  They explained that they couldn’t pick if it would be a boy or girl, it was going to be a surprise when the baby was born.  In my confident 5 year old way, I said that if it was a boy, I’d still love him but I just KNEW it was going to be a girl.  Since I was so sure, I set about thinking of a name for her.  I thought of a good first name for her and then I picked Aileen for her middle name.  Aileen was the name of a good friend of mine and it was a name I thought would be fitting for my new baby sister since her ancestry was both Irish and African.

A

My little sister at about 3 or 4 years old

Now that we’re all grown up with children of our own, I always think of her on St. Patrick’s Day and smile!

20170317_132739-1

My sister and I on a boat ride in Hong Kong.  I was in college and  I think my sister was still in high school.  

Incidentally, I saw a leprechaun today at the grocery store…I swear!  I even got a photo of him so you’d know I was telling the truth.

st patrick's day

This leprechaun was at my local grocery store.  I can tell by his face he was up to mischief!

 

7 responses

  1. Belated St. Patrick’s day wishes, Lynn!

    1. Hi Rob! Thanks. I’ve been away from my computer for a bit. I didn’t want to write anything having to do with the gym. Lol…

      I’m baaaaaacckkk! Hope you’re doing well and that you’re having great days (and nights).

  2. You and your sister look like twins! God works in mysterious ways…doesn’t he! 🙂 He knows what we want before we do.

    1. Yes, that’s my little, baby sister! A lot of people think we look similar but she’s VERY tall and I’m tiny. Funny…like a chihuahua and a Great Dane!

  3. Hope you had a good day and remember…

    I stole this from 56Packardman – do tell anybody! Cheers!! 🍸 🍸

  4. It sounds silly but they still do see leprechauns occasionally in Ireland. Real ones and the witnesses are sober!

    1. I want to see a leprechaun! I better go to Ireland. Really, I’ve never been. It’s a place I’d love to see at least once!

Leave a Reply

