Little, Bitty Goals

Rest assured, there were a ton of little, bitty goals that were met between the following before and after photos!

c7f7fd35b40ae70980bc358dcac7505c

2398d541e9bf9b3f7b128e126d37fc54

bodybuilding_before_and_after_640_16

645303eb6415d68397545ab6a37af0e3

It helps keep workouts going strong when you set little, bitty goals along the way.  There’s nothing wrong with setting big goals like losing 50lbs or running a marathon or winning a bodybuilding competition but it’s meeting the small goals that really propels you along day to day.  We all like to win so setting yourself up to do so is a smart way to keep yourself motivated.

smart goal setting concept

What do I mean by little, bitty goals?  I mean purposely setting the bar so you’ll be able to reach it with just a little thought and effort.  Perhaps you’ll ask yourself to drink one extra glass of water each day for a week.  Maybe you’ll add one extra set to each of your lifts for a month or go an extra quarter mile on your usual morning jog during football season.

Successfully meeting goals is a habit you can develop.  Reaching little, bitty goals regularly creates a mindset of accomplishment.  You learn how to keep the commitments you make and that sets you up for success with the larger goals you wish to attain.

istock_000017356076small

Practice makes perfect (or at least it gets you close)!

2 responses

  1. I think I have always made the mistake of setting myself unrealistic goals. I wish I’d known that years ago. Still, at least my plan to lose weight is actually doable…fingers crossed!

    1. Oh yes, you can certainly lose weight and if you don’t try to go too fast, you can do it relatively painlessly. I’m actually working on getting things a little tighter since the hot summer months will be here before long and I want to feel happy in my bathing suit. I’m doing a little extra cardio each day.

Leave a Reply

