Motivation (It’s Not All It’s Cracked Up To Be)

fitness-motivation-gym-inspiration-quote-saying-meme-workout-tone-and-tighten-waiting-for-a-sign

 

One of the mistakes people make when it comes to their exercise program, is that they wait until they feel “motivated” to go get a workout in.  They wait, and wait and wait.  Nine times out of ten, the workout never happens.  I’ve been exercising regularly for more than 22 years and it would be impossible to count the number of times I’ve shown up at the gym when I wasn’t in the mood.  That’s the way you have to approach it.  You show up whether you want to or not.  Waiting until you’re ready is a recipe for disaster.  After all, you might not feel like it for months….or years.  Never wait until you’re motivated to exercise.  Just get after it, NO MATTER WHAT!

6 responses

  1. Gotta hand it to you, Dr. Lynn!

    1. Glad you stopped by! Hope you’re having a great week.

  2. Thanks, Dr. Lynn, I needed that. Today I went to the gym but discovered that I forgot my gym bag. They have this silly rule about wearing clothes in my club, so I sat in the sauna and steamroom within the locker room, barred from the workout area. I think I will forget my bag again. Sitting is much easier than pumping iron. And I still worked up a sweat. Nevertheless, I will consider your advice about putting in some effort while there next time, provided I have appropriate attire.

    1. Ahh…. A very wise man indeed! (ps Peyton’s watching from his skybox…)

  3. Couldn’t have said it any better. If I had to always wait to be motivated, my plan would go out the window.

    1. Me too. I can always think of a reason to put my workouts off but I learned early on to ignore that little voice and just show up. Once I’m at the gym it’s a lot easier to just go ahead and put in some effort.

Leave a comment